Home » Creating » Christmas Brunch: Baby It’s Cold Outside

Christmas Brunch: Baby It’s Cold Outside

baby-its-cold-outsideWe recently held a Christmas Brunch for our neighbors and enjoyed a fun morning of laid back fun getting to know each other better. I decided to create a “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” theme even though it feels more like Spring around here in Denver lately.

We delivered invitations and snowflake cookies to everyone on our street and the surrounding streets. Peanut helped me make the delicious sugar cookies and we wrapped them up in cellophane. I got my cookie recipe from the cake & allie blog.

Picture 613

Picture 612The invitations looked like a chalkboard. I have these on my Etsy shop if you need custom invitations for your holiday party.

Picture 570I used an antique lace table cloth and some wonderful silver and white serving platters I had for the food table. I put Baby’s Breath in old bottles as a centerpiece. I think it looks like snow.

Picture 611

 

Picture 599We hung paper snowflakes from the ceiling above the beverage table. I also put a bedside lamp up on an old box to add extra light to this corner.

Picture 596We put a chalkboard sign at the top of the driveway to help remind the neighbors of the event.

Picture 610I love using pine cones that I’ve baked (to kill any bacteria or bugs) in all my holiday decorating. We leave them up year-round because they are so pretty.

Picture 608We had a coffee station with cream, sugar, and insulated cups.

Picture 606The kids loved the hot chocolate with peppermint and marshmallows.

Picture 605And now the food! I love hosting breakfast and brunch parties because so much of the food can be made ahead of time and frozen.

We had sweet potato biscuits with ham. I served some Grey Poupon mustard on the side.

Picture 604My favorite holiday treat from my childhood was always my grandmother’s cheese straws. I later found out that she bought them at the local specialty food shop and was aghast! 🙂

I made mine and they turned out great. They froze wonderfully until the party. I would highly recommend this recipe from OnceUponAChef. It would also be a wonderful appetizer for a cocktail dinner party.

Picture 603I also made a egg, cheese, and bacon crescent ring that turned out great! I made the bacon the day before so putting this together right before the party only took about 5-10 minutes.

Picture 602The fruit skewers were a hit especially with the kids. I assembled these the morning of the party and used the leftover fruit to garnish all the other dishes.

Picture 601I love these Blueberry Streusel Muffins. I always make extra to freeze and eat on Christmas morning.

Picture 600 These French Toast Sticks were a hit. I covered them with powdered sugar and served maple syrup alongside.Picture 598We made Molasses Roll Out cookies a few days before the party. This recipe was great because you don’t have to chill the dough before rolling the cookies out to cut them. Fun for kids because there is no waiting!

Picture 597 What a fun party and a great way to get to know our neighbors. This is a fun Christmas tradition that I hope will continue for many years to come!

Picture 609

Leave a Reply

