Home » Uncategorized » Daddy Will Fix It

Daddy Will Fix It

Joseph the Carpenter

Joseph the Carpenter, Georges de La Tour, 1645. Joseph works on a beam before the child Jesus who already seems to see the wood of the cross.

Occasionally Bud will come up to me, tears in his sweet blue eyes, and hold up a broken toy. I’ll sit down and say, “Daddy will fix it.” Sure enough, when Dad gets home, Bud will run up to him holding his broken toy saying “Daddy, please fix it!” My husband gets out his screwdriver and tape as Bud watches in amazement. After a few minutes of repair, he hands the toy back to Bud and it is better than new because now it bears the fingerprints of his Daddy’s love and proficiency.

I sat down this morning at my journal with a heavy heart. Emotionally and physically tired from the demands of three little ones, wondering if I was directing them down the right paths. I asked God, “How do I fix this? Should I fix this? Could you fix this?” Just then God answered me, “Daddy will fix it.” The how and when didn’t matter then because I knew He could fix it. He would fix it with a love that surpasses all understanding and a wisdom that created the universe.

Can we simply lay our burdens at his feet? Can we give him our pain and frustrations? Can we simply trust him and say, “Daddy, fix it?”

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. James 1:2-5

Leave a Reply

