Home » Homeschooling » Why We Keep the Twaddle Away

Why We Keep the Twaddle Away

twaddle

So what is twaddle you ask?

Twaddle = dumbed-down literature; absence of meaning

It is described even better over at Simply Charlotte Mason. If you are reading a book that you find annoying and repetitive (in a bad way) to your child, that is twaddle. If it has the latest and greatest pop culture character on the cover, it’s probably twaddle. If you wonder whether the author actually read and the book before publishing it, it is twaddle. We keep those types of books out of our house!

Why edit the twaddly books out of your library?

Because the best way to get your child to engage and enjoy reading is to read them wonderful, rich books. The most wonderful children’s books are the ones that the child gets lost in, that spur his or her imagination, that the child wants to read and look at over and over again. These are called “Living Books.”

It is so magical when my kids make this sort of connection with a book. I hear them later reenacting the events or repeating the words of the story while playing with dolls or play-doh.

Here is a wonderful quote that I completely agree with:

However much we may delight in them, we grown-up people have far too low an opinion of children.” Charlotte Mason, Vol. 1

I feel that I undervalue my children when I read them twaddle. They are capable of so much more and it is my job as their mother and teacher to spread a feast of wonderful books before them.

Where We Find “Living Books”

There are many wonderful “Living Book” lists out there. One of my favorite sources is Picture Perfect Childhood, by Cay Gibson. She has many different themed lists and I have found some real gems by searching our library for them.

CharlotteMasonHome.com has a great list by grade level here.

SimplyCharlotteMason.com has some great resources and a bookfinder here.

I have bought some great used titles from LivingBooksLibrary.com.

Have you edited the twaddle from your home library? Have you found any wonderful “Living Book” lists? Please share them in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Why We Keep the Twaddle Away

  1. Hi Anna,

    I’m visiting from SCM. πŸ™‚

    I wrote a blog series a few years back called “Building a Library for Your Child”. In it, I shared lists of our favorite twaddle-free books for different ages. Here is my post about books for the very young (board books and picture books):

    http://wheremytreasureis.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/building-a-library-for-your-child-part-3-for-the-very-young/

    I’m looking forward to taking a peek around your blog! πŸ™‚

    ~Anna

    • I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and love it. Thank you so much for your comment and for stopping by! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

