Home » Uncategorized » Thankful.

Thankful.

 Picture 88

Forgive me for the radio silence for the last 6 weeks. We have had a dramatic chapter written into our family’s story. It has a happy ending though, praise God…

Our third baby was due Dec. 22, but when I woke up on Tuesday, Oct. 22 my water broke. I was very scared, but even in that moment I felt the peace of Christ. I rushed in to my OB with my two preschoolers in tow. The doctor had barely began examining me, when he said, “You need to get to the hospital…now.”

Trying to hold back the fears that were threatening to overtake me, prayers were lifted for peace. We also rushed to find someone to come care for our two older children (all of our parents live out of state). I was put on magnesium sulfate, Indocen, and given the first round of steroids in anticipation of a delivery at 31 weeks. I stayed completely still in my hospital bed for 4 days hoping to let all the medicines do their work.

I began to have heavy bleeding on Friday of that week and went quickly into labor at midnight that night. Our son was born 2 hours later after a complete placental abruption at 31 weeks and 6 days. He was 4 lbs 4 oz and had a 2/10 Apgar score. He was alive though…praise God.

He was taken to the NICU and had an IV put into his head for 9 days to provide fluids and nutrition. He took milk through a gavage tube and had oxygen running into his nose. He had swallowed a fair amount of blood during the abruption so he had several chest x-rays.

He did eventually start to gain weight and drink from a bottle. It was exciting to see his progress, but it was so hard not being able to hold him and bring him home. Friends and family all over the country were praying and I have never felt so blanketed by the Lord’s supernatural comfort. My mother-in-law stayed to care for my other two children for a month and my mother was here for a week. I wouldn’t have been able to see him at all if it weren’t for their help.

After 28 days of driving 30 minutes back and forth to the hospital, he was discharged and we were able to bring him home. He continues to need oxygen because we live at altitude and he is struggling with anemia, but we are so thankful for the gift of having him home.

He now weighs over 6lbs and is making enormous strides each day. His brother and sister are doing great and love watching Dad and me feed and take care of their sweet baby brother.

This whole experience has given me a new appreciation for the miracle that these children are and how precious life is. Also, now that we are a family of 5, I am so thankful we can be together this Thanksgiving. What a gift. PRAISE GOD.

Picture 87

Picture 86

Picture 85

Picture 89

11 thoughts on “Thankful.

  1. I am thankful, too! What a scary time. My husband’s cousin had a similar experience a few years ago, and I can’t even imagine how terrifying all of that would be. I also can’t imagine not being with your newborn every second of every day. I am so glad that you found strength and peace through your ordeal. Here’s to more beautiful days ahead!

    • Thank you so much for your comment. We are certainly already experiencing more beautiful days now that he is home. God is truly good!

  2. Congratulations your baby boy is beautiful! I also had a placental abruption,and had an emergency C-section.My baby boy was born at 30 weeks and he was in the NICU for 51 days. He just turned 1 this week:-) I wish you health and happiness for your boy and your family.my boy also had anemia, he had to get 2 transfusions while in the Nicu.

    • Thank you for sharing your story. It is comforting to hear from a person who is a year out from everything. All the best to you and your family.

  3. We’re so happy to hear that your wee one is home, safe in the loving arms of your family. Being NICU parents, we know the trials and heart stopping moments of having to leave our little one at the hospital. She spent almost 4 months there and home wasn’t home, until we brought her through the door. Many blessings to you and yours.

  4. Pingback: Tutorial: Crib Quilt and Bumper from a Layer Cake | Bright Hope for Tomorrow

  5. Pingback: October and November 2013: Month-At-A-Glance | Bright Hope for Tomorrow

  6. Pingback: October 2014: Month-At-A-Glance | Bright Hope for Tomorrow

  7. Pingback: A Precious 2-Year-Old’s Narration | Bright Hope for Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

