Home » Cooking » DIY: Bride and Groom Pretzel Wedding Favors Tutorial

DIY: Bride and Groom Pretzel Wedding Favors Tutorial

instructions for bride and groom pretzels

instructions for bride and groom pretzels

My sister recently got married and I was so excited when she asked if I could help her do the welcome bags. I needed to use some creative juices and this was the perfect opportunity. I decided to make bride and groom pretzel rods as party favors. I found long skinny pretzel bags at Wal-Mart which served as the perfect packaging. Here is the tutorial…

Picture 45

You’ll need:

  • Pretzel Rods (Mine had about 16 per package so I used 4 bags)
  • Chocolate Candy Melts
  • White Chocolate Candy Melts
  • Small white nonpareils

Picture 44

Start with a pot of gently simmering water and cover with a bowl to make a double boiler.

Picture 46

Melt the white chocolate candy melts first. Keep stirring the candies until they are melted into a nice, smooth consistency. I turned the heat off at this point and the chocolate stayed warm enough to use the whole time.

Picture 47

Cover your pretzel rod with white chocolate. I found it was easiest to spread the chocolate on with a spoon (instead of dipping) and then gently tap it on the side of the bowl to remove the excess.

Picture 48

After the pretzel has been covered in chocolate, sprinkle white nonpareils all around the surface of the wet candy. Helpful Tip: lay newspaper under your cooling racks to catch excess chocolate and nonpareils for easier cleanup.

Picture 49

Keep going until you have finished half of your pretzel rods and allow them all to cool.

Picture 51

Use a spoon to spread white chocolate on the remaining half of your pretzels. This will be the white shirt of the groom so it only needs to cover the front.

Picture 50

Using the same spoon spreading process, create the groom’s “coat and pants” with the brown chocolate. I ran my spoon along the edges of the white “shirt” part of the pretzel to get the angled coat.

instructions for bride and groom pretzels

Using a piping bag with a fine tip, create a bow tie and two buttons with the brown chocolate. I found it easiest to go in a “Figure 8” motion to create the bow tie.

instructions for bride and groom pretzels

I created small labels for the packaging. If you like these labels, I’d be happy to create some customized with your bride and groom’s names. I have these custom labels for sale at Etsy.

After all the pretzels had cooled, I slid one of each into the long pretzel bags and stapled the top. Be careful as you lift the pretzels off the cooling rack. The dried chocolate might make them stick a little so it’s best to use a gentle rocking motion to lift them off the rack.

These were very fun to make and were a huge hit for all the guests. A couple of them broke so I was able to taste them and they were very yummy! Hope you have a chance to enjoy them too!

9 thoughts on “DIY: Bride and Groom Pretzel Wedding Favors Tutorial

    • Thank you so much! I am a big fan of sweet and savory combos. Your work is amazing so that is quite a compliment. Glad you were able to stop by!

  1. Pingback: Tic Tac Wedding Favors | Bright Hope for Tomorrow

  2. Hi i wanted to make these for wedding favors for my daughters wedding. Can you tell me how far in advance to the wedding can you make these

  3. I made them the weekend before the wedding (7 days) and they were fine. I live in a very dry climate in the West so we don’t have many issues with things going stale. If you live in a humid climate, you may want to make them closer to the big day. Hope that helps!

    • Thanks! I bought the bags at Walmart (they were Wilton brand). I created the labels myself and printed them on some nice beige paper I had at the time. I have an Etsy shop where I can customize the labels with the name of the bride and groom and email them to you as a PDF so you can print them and create your own cool pretzel favors. Here is a link to that item in my store in case you are interested. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: National Pretzel Day - Something 2 Dance 2

Leave a Reply

