Home » Uncategorized » “Mom, who created God?”

“Mom, who created God?”

Picture 9

That was the question posed to me by my four-year-old son one morning as we played with toys in the basement. Such an insightful question from a young mind! I responded by saying, “Nobody created God, he has always existed.” Bud nodded and went back to playing with his cars and trucks.

I pondered over the question for days, first awestruck at the depth of Bud’s thinking on God and second on whether I gave him a Biblical answer. The feeling didn’t escape me that I have quite a person on my hands here. His father has a steel trap for a brain and can memorize and recite numbers and facts he learned five years ago. Never, and I mean never challenge this man to a game of Trivial Pursuit. It serves to reason that his son would inherit his intelligence and it has been amazing to see it emerge as his mother. I stand in awe of this miracle in my own house. Thank you, Lord.

So did I answer him truthfully? It turns out that this is a common argument against Creation made by Atheists. I am by no means an expert in theology, nor do I have a degree from a school of divinity so I simply trust in the truth found in God’s word.

Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.” Psalm 90:2

“For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made.” Romans 1:20

“To the only God our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.” Jude 1:25

God exists outside the realm of what we call time. He has and will reign over all creation from everlasting to everlasting. He is eternal.

I hope discussions like this with my children will happen frequently. They challenge me in my faith. They deepen my knowledge of God. I hope our home will be a place where all views and opinions are heard and held up against the light of God’s truth. I am so thankful to have the authority of the Bible to rely on. Goodness knows it would be the blind leading the blind otherwise!

One thought on ““Mom, who created God?”

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

