Home » Homeschooling » Music Time

Music Time

Picture 24

Music. It is what first connected my husband and I almost 12 years ago. He saw me singing with some friends and then walked up to find out we played the same obscure Japanese guitar. Coming from different backgrounds of musical styles, his classical and jazz…mine folk and bluegrass we somehow found an intense connection in this one soulful area.

What a gift music is. Psalm 104:33 says “I will sing to the LORD all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.”

There is something deeply personal about music that touches and reveals a spiritual side in all of us. It is hard (maybe impossible?) to find a person who hasn’t gotten chills from music at some point in their life.

Music has naturally found it’s way into our daily life as a family. It is a part of our daily “routine” but only because the children love and request it every day and their mom and dad happily oblige. We love it as much as they do.

We love hymns. The words can be so profound. I feel God talking to me through them in a very personal way. One of the biggest blessings of my time at home with my children has been teaching them these timeless hymns. I often hear Bud downstairs playing with Legos singing “O praise Him! O praise Him! Alleluia!” after our time of hymn singing in the morning. What joyful noises to fill our house. I know the Lord is smiling as he hears these early words from the young boy whose name means “Worshipful One”.

Picture 26

Picture 27

Picture 25

Picture 23

Picture 29

Do you love hymns too? What are your favorites?

2 thoughts on “Music Time

    • Those are great! I’ve never heard Sweet Beulah land, but I’ve seen it in my hymnal and wondered about it. I’ll have to give it a listen. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

