Home » Creating » DIY: Birthday Chair Cover

DIY: Birthday Chair Cover

Picture 1

My son turned 4 yesterday and I got it into my head the night before that I wanted to create a special way to mark his chair on his special day. I decided to make a felt chair cover that would fit over our dining room chairs that I could reuse each time one of my kids had a birthday. I used felt and embroidery thread and put the whole thing together in two hours. Pretty easy! Hopefully it will make them both feel extra special on their big day each year.

Supplies:

  • 1/2 yard of gold felt
  • Small scraps of various colors
  • Gold embroidery thread
  • Various other colors of embroidery thread
  • Poly-fil (about two handfuls)
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • Embroidery needle

Picture 2

I started by measuring the gold fabric to go around my chairs. The felt material I used had some stretch, so this didn’t have to be exact. I cut the length and the scrap I was using was already about 8 inches tall.

Picture 5

Then I made a pattern and cut out triangles to use for the top of the crown.

Picture 6

Picture 7

I cut out different colors of “jewels” and sewed those to half the gold triangles.I then stitched the triangles together and added some Poly-fil to give them some poof. The triangles were then stitched to the top of the long piece of gold fabric.

Picture 8

Next, I sewed the back seam (right sides together). Then I closed the seam at the top of the chair cover (right sides together). If I had time, I would have sewn the purple “Happy Birthday” letters on before this step, but I decided it was too late in the evening and put the letters on the next evening. (That’s why the photo of him with the candle doesn’t have any letters on it).

Picture 9

Picture 10

I cut out the purple “Happy Birthday” letters and sewed them on to the chair cover. Lastly, I made a piping edge around the bottom with a little more Poly-fil.

Picture 11

Hopefully, this will serve through the years as a part of the memories we make each time the kids have a birthday. Bud certainly had a great day so I think it was a success! 🙂

Picture 12

2 thoughts on “DIY: Birthday Chair Cover

Leave a Reply

