Home » Homeschooling » February 2013 Month-At-A-Glance

February 2013 Month-At-A-Glance

February Five in a Row Books

We really enjoyed our Five in a Row lessons this month. I began having Bud do narrations at the beginning and end of the week. He enjoyed this and got better with each one. I got better too! I try not to lead him to much on what to say, but let him express what stood out to him from the story. I recorded each one on my phone and it has been fun going back and listening to them. This month we read:

  • Clown of God, by Tomie dePaola
  • The Story About Ping, by Marjorie Flack
  • Madeline, by Ludwig Bemelmans
  • The Snowy Day, by Ezra Jack Keats

Lesson Highlights

  • Bud enjoyed using beads to count all of the juggling balls on the pages of Clown of God. He loves to count and can go all the way to 100 now.
  • We did a fun Float and Sink activity with The Story About Ping. Bud predicted whether he thought 10 objects around the house would float or sink and then we logged the results on a chart.
  • Bud learned the difference between monochromatic and full-color pictures while reading Madeline and enjoyed creating his own monochromatic picture (using brown, of course).

Habit Training: Kind Words

This month we focused on teaching Bud to use kind words. I found some wonderful scriptures to accompany this habit training in Ephesians.

“29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”
Ephesians 4:29,31-32

To reinforce this teaching, I told Bud that I would put vinegar on his tongue if he used angry words so he could taste what bitterness felt like. Conversely, when he used sweet words I put honey on his tongue. His mind thinks in a very literal way at this tender age so I think this really helped him understand how his words made others feel. I only had to use the vinegar twice to help him get the point. I also got to enjoy some very sweet words in the process. “Mom, you’re a great cook.” “Dad, how was your day today?” “Mom, you did a great job driving us to the library [in 6 inches of snow!].”

I think this will be an ongoing habit building project. I’ve been alive for 31 years and still mutter bitter words now and then. I’m sure he’d learn a lot if I put vinegar on my tongue during those times!

Leave a Reply

